Sermon: Remembering the Stories that Form Us

Word Made Fresh

Plumb Line

[Given on the Sunday, July 12, 2015, by The Rev. Fr. Marcus Halley at St. Paul’s Episcopal Church – Kansas City, Missouri]

And the LORD said to me, “Amos, what do you see?” And I said, “A plumb line.” Then the Lord said, “See, I am setting a plumb line in the midst of my people Israel; I will never again pass them by; the high places of Isaac shall be made desolate, and the sanctuaries of Israel shall be laid waste, and I will rise against the house of Jeroboam with the sword.”

Amos 7.8,9

Grace and peace to you from God our Father, and from his son Jesus Christ, our Risen Lord and Reigning Savior.

If you would allow me, I’d like to frame our time together around two questions: Who are we? What or who makes us who we are?

These are all questions of identity and naming, community…

View original post 1,167 more words

Leave a Reply

