Who is God?

the rev. jimmy abbott

The Rev. Jimmy Abbott
Fourth Sunday of Advent
December 20, 2015

Luke 1:39-55

Who is God?

Exactly five years ago, on the Fourth Sunday of Advent, I was ordained as a priest. In five years, I have learned a whole lot. I have learned how difficult it is to hold hands with a parishioner as they die, and to bury them. I have learned how wonderful it is to bless new babies at the hospital and baptize them. I have learned how the church’s septic system works, or doesn’t work. I have learned that people are people, for good and for ill.

And now that it’s been five years since I graduated from seminary, I have spent some time reflecting on what I learned there. I learned that there is a valid theological argument to baptize robots if they ever acquire consciousness. In seminary I learned just enough New Testament…

View original post 1,439 more words

Leave a Reply

