The Promises of God

Draughting Theology

Today marks the beginning of a new season.  Christmas is [finally] over, and the Feast of the Epiphany is upon us.  Today we celebrate the coming of the Magi, and begin a season of looking for the ways in which God continues to reveal his will in the world.  I’ll post my Epiphany homily a little later today, but in the meantime, I’m still looking toward Sunday, which my Prayer Book calls “First Sunday after the Epiphany *colon* The Baptism of our Lord.”

It would be easy to see the second half of this feast’s title and focus all of our attention of the Gospel appointed for Sunday, but honestly, a chopped up version of Luke’s baptism narrative doesn’t get me too excited. Another Sunday preaching about how John the Baptist wasn’t the Messiah doesn’t seem particularly helpful.  And since I dealt with the Holy Spirit yesterday, I find…

View original post 247 more words

Leave a Reply

