Nigerian gay activist: I’m a champion, not a victim (video)

76 CRIMES

Bisi Alimi (Photo courtesy of The Daily Beast) Bisi Alimi (Photo courtesy of The Daily Beast)

“When my attackers came for me in 2007, they wanted to make me a victim. But I stand tall today…  My name is Bisi Alimi, a Nigerian-born British citizen gay rights activist.  And I am not a victim…. These narratives don’t shape me.  I want to own my own story.”

Those strong affirmations came in this week’s video from the “Quorum” series of 11 discussions of international LGBTI issues.

These are extensive excerpts from Alimi’s speech to the Quorum gathering, as shown on the video:

A few years after I came out, my house was broken into, I was beaten, I was tortured and narrowly escaped being shot in the head. I was tied up. I was stripped naked. At some point, all I could see was my body in a casket. It seemed that I had an out-of-body experience in my…

View original post 933 more words

Leave a Reply

